Played at Graspop Metal Meeting 2017



United States


The American heavy metal band Sanctuary formed in 1985. One year later they briefly stepped into the limelight with the release of ‘Refuge Denied’ (1986), an album produced by Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine. However, the advent of grunge and alternative rock prevented them from forcing a genuine breakthrough and they disbanded in 1992, leaving Warrel, Jim Shepherd and touring guitarist Jeff Loomis free to concentrate on their new – and much more successful - band Nevermore. Sanctuary was then revived in 2010 following several reunion gigs and this culminated in ‘The Year the Sun Died’ (2014), Sanctuary’s first full-length album in a quarter of a century. A new release is scheduled for 2017. (#GMM17)