Played at Graspop Metal Meeting
2009 / 2014 / 2019






Leif Edling formed Candlemass when his previous band Nemesis folded. In 1986, the line-up including founder/bassist Leif Edling and vocalist Johan Längqvist recorded ‘Epicus Doomicus Metallicus’. Like its successor ‘Nightfall’ (1987), the album was instrumental in creating the blueprint for the doom metal genre as a whole. On ‘Nightfall’, Längqvist was replaced by Messiah Marcolin, who was the second in a series of excellent vocalists for the doom metallers. As the band’s success dwindled they disbanded and then reformed twice; since 2004 the band has been recording and touring steadily. In 2007 Candlemass continued its tradition of great vocalists with the addition of Solitude Aeturnus’ lead singer Robert Lowe, who featured on the critically acclaimed albums ‘King of the Grey Islands’ (2007) and ‘Death Magic Doom’ (2009). Religious symbolism was typical of early Candlemass lyrics but on later albums they gravitated towards myths and dark tales in general, especially from the Lowe-era onwards. The ingredients of the Candlemass cocktail have largely remained the same over the years: molasses-paced riffs, angry/wailing/plaintive vocals and an atmosphere of utter despair. A new album is in the works for 2019 and... ‘Epicus’ singer Längqvist has rejoined the band after 32 years. Yet another twist in the genealogy of these doom peddlers extraordinaire. (#GMM19)